Financial planning

I looked for this topic, but didn’t find anything, so I thought I’d create it for us. Maybe it’s my line of work that made me start down this line of thinking. I’m a fiscal manager at a local health department.

Let me start by saying, my husband and I are not financially independent. This disease worsens over time and I wonder what will happen when I can’t work to help pay our bills. Thankfully, I bought life insurance a few years ago, it’s enough to cover the house if anything should happen to me. I have pretty good health insurance, and I’m not worried so much about hospital bills. I am worried about just not being able to cover the month to month bills: car payments, mortgage, student loan, phone bill, etc.

There are two insurances I’m considering. One is a group disability, and the other is critical illness insurance. I’m not sure if I can get these now that I have a diagnosis and am waiting for a return call to inquire.

Another question is, what about the cost of medications after a transplant?

I’d love to hear what are other people doing to plan financially?

michrichwood,
Hello. Thank you for starting this new topic. I’m sure it’s one that will spark some interest. I’ll try and address your concerns and hopefully put your mind at a little more ease.